Shaandaar – Movie Review

Actors: Shahid Kapoor, Alia Bhatt, Pankuj Kapoor, Sana Kapoor, Sanjay Kapoor.

Director: Vikas Bahl

Release Date: October 22, 2015

Visualeks Rating: 4/5

My Rating: 3.9/5

Plot:Β 

The story itself is nothing special. It’s your average plot where a guy falls in love with a girl and has to fight off her dad to get her. So you won’t find anything special there. There are a few twists like every other Bollywood movie.

Cinematography:

Cinematography itself was superb. I loved the little details like dragonflies appearing real and then becoming a pattern on Alia’s kimono. It’s not your typical Indian movie in terms of how it is filmed. It has a lot of cute elements.

Songs:

I didn’t love any of the songs. They are all good in terms of accompanying the movie. But I would not hear them on repeat. You can hear the songsΒ here.

Acting:

Acting wise, I absolutely loved Shahid Kapoor’s acting. I have never been his fan. But after Haider and now this, I am forced to change my view. His expressions were different at every dialogue. I can watch this movie again just for his acting, it was that good.

Pankuj Kapoor’s acting is flawless. He has a lot of spark which I loved. Seeing him, you realize where Shahid got his acting skills from. They look like father son, by the way they act and express themselves.

Alia’s acting was average. Honestly, I expected a lot more. And then there were the usual Bollywood bongia (mistakes) where she was wearing shorts while everyone else is wearing three different jackets.Other:

Another thing which I loved was how unconventional some of the reactions were at times where things were pretty traditional. You will see what I mean in a scene between Alia and Pankuj Kapoor.

The chemistry between Shahid and Alia was really good. The comedy was fantastic. I guarantee that you will laugh 90% of the movie. Some comedy movies just stay fun till the interval and than they go soppy. Not this one. It will make you laugh till the end.

Not So Good Things:

  1. All the songs were average. I had heard them all before watching the movie and Shaam Shaandaar was the only one I heard twice.
  2. Story is nothing special.
  3. The ending was very random. I felt like it was not concluded properly. Maybe the director left it like that on purpose.

You can watch the trailer below.

…..

4 thoughts on “Shaandaar – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

