26th Doha International Book Fair

1449220308311.jpgI have been going to this book fair for the past nine years. I think I missed it only once when I was out of the country.

For the past three years this book fair has been a disappointment in terms of English books. I mean, it is an international book fair, so English books should be there. They never had the latest fiction books that I wanted.

I read it on Doha News that this year’s collection was a lot better. So despite being apprehensive, I decided to check it out. I was pleasantly surprised. They did have a lot of the latest books that I wanted, fiction as well as non fiction. The book collection was pretty good especially in comparison to last year’s. 20151203_200839.jpg Unfortunately there were merely five to six book stalls that had fiction/nonfiction books on them. The English section was very tiny as usual despite this being an International book fair. Another thing that I noticed was that there were no new vendors. I have been seeing the same vendors for the past three/four years. Maybe they were still setting up or something. I don’t know. Also, some of the vendors refused to give a discount which is bizarre considering this is a fair.

Books I Bought:

I got only two books. The first one is Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. I read about it on Catia’s blog The Girl Who Read Too Much.

The second is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. This book has been on my to be read list for awhile now. So when I saw it, I picked it up.

The reason I didn’t buy a lot of books is because my brother is coming from Pakistan in two weeks. And he will be bringing a ton of books.20151204_115711-1.jpg20151204_115752-1.jpg20151204_115958-1.jpg

Hope you liked this minuscule hall. 🙂

…….

 

 

2 thoughts on “26th Doha International Book Fair

Leave a Reply

