Things I Am Proud Of In 2015

BeFinuIt’s December. Yikes ! I for one cannot believe that 2015 is almost over. It sounds weird and unreal. But 365 days have passed by while we all tried to make sense out of life.

I was reflecting on the things that I am proud of, in this year. And that I am thankful for as well.

Abbu (My dad):

If you didn’t know he was in a major car accident this year. I wrote about it on the blog. It was a really hard time for me as he was in the hospital for almost four months. It was the scariest thing that has ever happened to me.

Every time he shuffles by leaning on his black stick (which is used more to threaten us and less to walk), every time he smiles or makes an embarrassing dad comment, I go back to that dreadful, endless time in the hospital. And I feel blessed to have him healthy and happy in our lives.

My Family:

2015 saw us united as a team, leaning on each other while supporting at the same time. While the world lost faith, we believed even more that Abbu will be okay. We stood our ground, did not sacrifice our religion and our beliefs. We were truly a family. Each one of us sacrificed and handled everything in such a brilliant manner that I could not be more proud of them all especially my mom who handled it all like a champ. They are my biggest support system. I am beyond grateful to have them in my life.

Diploma :

In normal circumstances it would have taken me an year to get the diploma but nothing was normal this past year. So just the fact that I got it is a big deal for me. It is proof that I can do something, that I am more than someone’s daughter or wife.

Me As A Person:

There is no better life learning experience than a South Asian Marriage. And I learnt so much about people, life and how I would not want to do things. As a person I grew a lot. I learnt to let go of basically everything, not because I wanted to or had to. But because I knew that there was no benefit of doing anything about it. I also realised that my family is the most important thing in my life and I wouldn’t tolerate anyone saying anything about them.

The Other Half:

It sounds like I am talking about a Chocolate Chip Cookie. But I am talking about the dear husband. He is my driving force. When times get hard, I lose faith in myself and I want to quit, he makes sure that I don’t. He makes me believe in myself. He has this ability to make me laugh even in the most tense situations. So I am truly thankful that I have him in my life.

2015 was a weird year for me because there are only two things that I remember vividly, one my dad’s accident and the second, our vacation to Turkey. Despite all the hard times, it was a good year. It was a year of being grateful, letting go and living in the moment.

I will be writing about my 2016 goals in the coming week. So watch out for that.

Do tell me what made you proud in 2015. πŸ™‚

…….

4 thoughts on “Things I Am Proud Of In 2015

Leave a Reply

