The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks {Book Review}

20160107_111346-1.jpg

Goodread’s Review: The Notebook

Goodread’s Rating: 4.05

Published: 1996

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Genre: Romance, Woman’s Fiction, Chick Lit, Adult Fiction

Pages: 214

My Rating: 3/5

My Review:

I am probably the last person on planet earth to read this book. But I do have a reason for that. Firstly, it was published in 1996 and at the time I was just an year old. Secondly, I don’t like to read really famous or hyped up books. When the world has moved on to another book, that is when I like to pick it up and read. Otherwise, I know that I will be forced to like it because everyone else does.

I was disappointed. I expected a lot more from such a famous book. I know it was written 20 years ago. But that’s not a justification to make it a good read. I kept thinking that there has to be something more to the story. But there wasn’t. It was stretched a lot and things were not explained properly.

I liked reading the book from Noah’s perspective. Allie’s was just blah. A lot of sappiness. I have to say that I loved the way Noah took care of her in their old age. That was pretty sweet. I also loved Allie’s last letter to him. I am a sucker for letters so yeah, I pretty much loved reading all the letters.

I liked the parts of their old age together more than the parts of their young selves. For me there was a lot more love and romance when they were 80 compared to when they were 30.

Their teenage selves were just not good. Maybe it was the writing or the characters but their teenage selves had no depth at all. Reading the book, I felt as if I was reading an overview or summary of a story instead of the story itself. If only Sparks had gone a bit more into detail !

20160107_111334-1.jpg

…….

14 thoughts on “The Notebook – Nicholas Sparks {Book Review}

  1. I’m not the crying type when it comes to books (even less with movies), but I had tears falling down from my eyes at the end of this book. We’ve also cried like babies with the movie. I’m quite sensitive to love stories that last for a lifetime, it’s something quite touching to me. And maybe because I’ve read the book when I was 16 it really left a mark, not sure if it would have the same impact now

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

