Childhood Book Tag

2151217_11)Mahnoor from Moonlight Blogs and Rabia from A Touch Of Everything have done this tag. Since I had so much fun reading all their answers, I decided to copy them. Sorry peeps, I am trying to survive the exam season.

Anyway, hope you like it.

1.First book you remember reading on your own ?

This is a hard question because I have been reading for as long as I can remember. I think it was one of the Famous Five series or Inspector Jamshed series (it is a detective series in Urdu written by Ishtiaq Ahmed ).

2. First book you remember your parents reading to you ?

My parent’s didn’t read books to us. They used to tell us stories before bedtime. And one of the first one’s I remember was Merchant of Venice that my mom told us (yeah, my mother read Shakespeare to us :P).

3.Books you read because of your parents ? Because of your friends ?

Where should I start from ? My whole family reads plus my friends do as well. So we are always passing around recommendations. I read Little House on the Prairie series because of my mom. My brother forced me to read Harry Potter. And there are countless books that I read because of friends.

4. Favourite book from school ?

What Katy Did by Sarah Chauncey. I read this in 4th grade I believe. Oooh man, I absolutely loved it.

5. Favourite book in Elementary ?

Little House On The Prairie series, Inspector Jamshed series, Famous Five series, a lot of Enid Blyton.

6.In Middle School ?

I discovered Harry Potter in Elementary but since not all the books were out, I finished the series in Middle School. So HP was love in every possible way. Some of the other favourite books I read were Vampire Academy by Richelle Meade, Agatha Christie books, Sherlock Holmes, Dan Brown. I read Pir-e-Kamil by Umera Ahmed as well. Although I was quiet young to fully appreciate it but still loved it all the same.

7. In High School ?

High school was love in terms of reading because I was surrounded by great friends who loved to read as well. All I did was read books in high school. It was insane and awesome. Some of my favourites are House Rules, My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, The Book Thief and I am The Messenger by Markus Zusak, James Patterson books, The Count Of Monte Cristo, The Hunger Games, The Sea Of Tranquility, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, The Time Traveler’s Wife. I also discovered Sidney Sheldon and Jeffrey Archer in high school, both of whom I absolutely love.

8. Book you gave up as a kid and would like to revisit ?

It will have to be a classic, no idea which one though. I find it hard to read classics.

9. Books you checked out the most from the library as a kid ?

Enid Blyton, Agatha Christie, some classics.

10. Book you made all your friends read ?

There are probably a lot. The one I distinctively remember is The Count Of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas.

11. The book that made you love reading ? 

I don’t think that there is one particular book. Every time I read a book that makes me stay up all night and skip everything else in life, I am reminded of how lucky I am to be inlove with books.

12. Favourite Middle grade read ? 

I loved the Enid Blyton series that had this character named Fatty who was a master in changing disguises. 8 year old me was in love with him.

13. Favourite Young adult read ?

All of Jodi Picoult books, especially House Rules, The Storyteller and My Sister’s Keeper. The Book Theif by Markus Zusak, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

14. First long series you read as a kid ?

Famous Five series, Babysitter’s Club, Little House On The Prairie and Harry Potter. Don’t remember which one was first.

15. How did you learn to read ? How old were you ?

No clue at all.

16. How obsessed were you with book fairs as a child ?

I am still obsessed with book fairs although I haven’t attended a great one yet. But fingers crossed I will.

This was all for me. I had a lot of fun, going down memory lane and browsing through Goodreads to see if I missed any of my favourites.

Now it’s your turn to this tag and tell me all about your favourite childhood books.

……..

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Childhood Book Tag

  1. We love so many of the same books!!! I LOVED Agatha Christie, her books were the ones I checked out of libraries the most. And Jodi Picoult is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, isn’t she? Her books man. *dreamy sigh* I haven’t met that many people who’ve read her books and I always say, you don’t know what you’re missing out on.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agathat Christie is great.
      I KNOW ! Jodi Picoult is spectacular. You are so right. I am always recommending people to read her books. She is just an amazing writer. 😀
      Well, it’s always great to discover someone who loves the same books as you. Cheers ! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I LOOOOVVVEEEE My sister’s keeper. I was crying like a baby after that. House rules was amazing, too. :’)
        And pretty much everything else she’s written. Did you see the movie, though? My sister’s keeper. It was disappointing.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I couldn’t stop my tears after reading both of those books. I read House Rules during last months of High School and at the time, it resonated so much with me.
        I have seen the trailer and a bunch of clips. It looks disappointing even from that so ended up not watching it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

