Dear John – Nicholas Sparks (Book Review)

Goodread’s Review:Dear John5526

Author: Nicholas Sparks

Published: October 30, 2006

Genre: Romance, Adult Fiction, 

Goodread’s Rating: 3.9/5

My Rating: 4/5

My Review:

I am not a huge Nicholas Sparks fan. Just because I don’t like sappy love stories. I am glad that Dear John was more than that.

There is one word for this book i.e. sweet. It was simple yet meaningful.

I loved Savannah’s promise to John. A friend told me about it a long time ago. So reading it was a bit nostalgic as well.

What I enjoyed the most is John’s relationship with his father. How he deals with everything, is unable to understand his dad but still tries his best to connect with him.

This story was honest in the sense that they had plenty of love but they needed time. The notion that all you need is love between two people to end together is every wrong. There is a lot of hard work involved. Usually Sparks books revolve around the notion that all you need is love. And this was different than that which I loved.

It was predictable. I knew who Savannah married long before it was mentioned. Just like I knew what John would do in the end. Despite that the ending was a bit different but it tied the story together. It’s one of those bittersweet endings where on one end you are happy and on the other, sad.

Do read it if you are looking for something simple and sweet.

……

4 thoughts on “Dear John – Nicholas Sparks (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

