Books Read In January

2016020I decided to do this monthly post and write about all the books I read in the month. Because I like to keep track of what I am reading. I get sidetracked a lot, hence I thought that this would be a good way to keep myself in check.

January was a great month, reading wise. Although I had exams going on, but I was still able to read quiet a lot, especially in the last week.

Here are the books I read:

  1. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks: I wrote a book review on this. Needless to say, this was not a favourite at all. I expected a lot more from such a hyped up book.
  2. The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown: Three sisters who are back in town, living in the same house they grew up in, trying to find their way out of their problems. Although the plot was very predictable, this was a sweet story. I loved reading about their relationship as sisters and all of the Shakespeare that was thrown into it.
  3. The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman: A woman who has Alzheimer’s starts writing down in a book to document her life and love for those around her. The concept of the book was amazing. Again, the story was a bit predictable but nonetheless good. What I loved was that Alzheimer’s was written about from the character herself as well as the people around her.20160201_114644
  4. Zawia by Ishfaq Ahmed: This is an Urdu book by a Pakistani writer. I haven’t finished reading this because it requires a lot of time since it’s a bit difficult for me. His thoughts are very realistic and relatable to this day.
  5. P.S.I Love You by Cecelia Ahern: This was a load of crap. I will write a review on it soon. But don’t waste your time on it. The only way I got through this was that I was at my mom’s and I didn’t have any other books on me to read. (Note to self, please keep back ups)
  6. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon: The cover ! *dreamy sighs* Loved, loved this book. The main character has SCID which is an immune deficiency and can’t go outside of her house. From all the quirky details to the story and the characters, it was great.
  7. The Selection by Keira Cass: I wanted to read something fantasy, dystopian and didn’t want to wait for someone to bring the books for me. (I couldn’t find them in Qatar) I read it as an e-book. Although the story sounded a bit copy cat to be honest, it was still pretty good. But then I came to the end which was horrible. There was no end.20160201_114843
  8. The Elite by Keira Cass: In the hopes that the story get’s better, I started reading it. What a mistake ! It only got worse. Through out the book, America is depressed deciding whether to choose Maxon or Aspen. I hate love triangles so maybe this wasn’t my cup of tea.
  9. The One by Keira Cass: I am glad that I didn’t give up on this series. This book is the best among all of them. There is a lot more to the story than just love triangles. Maxon takes things into his hands and stands up for himself. The story ended on a great note.

I am back, baby ! That sounded much better in my head. Anyway, I am overjoyed that I was able to read so much in this month.

I want to know what you guys are reading these days. Any recommendations are welcome. 🙂20160201_114555

…….

8 thoughts on “Books Read In January

  1. Ooh! The Notebook is one of my favorite books. I didn’t like the movie, though! Zaawia is a great read, but it’s a bit serious book. I couldn’t finish it.

    I recently finished Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari that was so typically and thoroughly American. A perfect mix of boring & funny pieces.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how straight up honest you are xD. I might pick up The Memory Book and Everything Everything – for some reason I’m really interested in books dealing with mental/physical disabilities/deficiencies. After reading The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, I feel that I could absorb a lot about a concept just from reading even a fiction book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you are into reading about diseases and that kind of a thing then read Jodi Picoult’s books. My favourites are My Sisters Keeper, Nineteen Minutes, House Rules and The Storyteller. She is a brilliant writer. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great job for reading all those books! I wanted to read many but I just read one, and that was the five people you meet in heaven, and that’s about it. February also looks hopeless to me when I think of accomplishing any reading. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Did you like it ? I have been meaning to read it for awhile now.
      I hate it when that happens. But don’t worry about it. There are many things in life to be stressed about, reading should never be one of them. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

