Dark Places by Gillian Flynn (Book Review)

20160204_114646Goodread’s review: Dark Places

Goodread’s Rating: 3.9/5

Author: Gillian Flynn

Pages: 349

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime

Published: 2009

My Rating: 4/5

My Review:

I loved Gone Girl so I picked this up after having it on my bookshelf for two years. I am becoming one of those people whose TBR pile is loner than than the read pile. *sighs*

Gillian Flynn is a dark writer. Her writing is powerful, ruthless, yet realistic. She goes into the heart of things and writes about situations that are very real but somehow ignored by us. And I love it.

Dark places is the story of a young girl whose family is murdered one night. Her brother is sent to jail for these murders on the account of her testimony when she is only 7 years old. 24 years later, she is forced to think about that night in a whole different angle.

The story switches between Ben, Patty (their mother) and Libby’s (the youngest sister) point of view, both from the past and in the present.

I didn’t like Patty’s character at all. It was the most pathetic character I have ever read about. Maybe it was because I didn’t understand her.

What I love about Flynn’s writing is that her character’s have so many layers to them. You explore those depths as the story progresses, sometimes hating them, sometimes understanding their actions. It’s hard for me to love her characters because they aren’t meant to be loved. They are meant to be understood. And you do. You understand their actions when you hear the whole story.

The ending was perfect. I can’t believe that I actually said that but it’s true. Despite trying, I couldn’t find a single fault in the ending.

I always end up being thankful for the people that I have in my life. Because people are complex and troubled in so many ways. Reading this book will make you realize how complex, cruel and difficult people can be.

It’s not just the places that are dark, it’s the people as well.

Quotes I Loved:

“The truly frightening flaw in humanity is our capacity for cruelty – we all have it.”

“It was surprising that you could spend hours in the middle of the night pretending things were okay, and know in thirty seconds of daylight that simply wasn’t so”

……..

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dark Places by Gillian Flynn (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

