20 Things I Want My Best Friend To Know

htsYou know that one person you would have married and all the problems in the world would have been solved because of it. You don’t. I do. This is for that friend.

So here are twenty things I want her to know:

  1. I am sorry that I have been a lousy friend. Well, I am getting my shit together. Who am I kidding with that.
  2. Keep your courage and strength. I hate it when you are down and you doubt yourself. I want you to remember that there is someone who derives energy from your actions and your hard work.
  3. Always have ice cream in your freezer. There is nothing that a container of Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream can’t fix. My logic is that after eating a ton of it, you forget what you were worried about in the first place. Problem solved. (for like eight hours)
  4. Medicine is tough. It’s what I imagine jumping off a plane without a parachute is like. Real life Hunger Games babeh ! (trying to sound cool when I am not) But you are doing this because that is what you have always wanted.
  5. You have forgotten what a good ten hour sleep looks like or waking up at 11:00 am is like. But it’s all for a good cause. You want to help people. You want to make a difference. And this is the way you are going to do that.
  6. Remember that there are thousands of women doctors in our country but only 20% of them work. So we need doctors. We need compassionate doctors who understand their patients. We need you.
  7. Making Gol Rotiyan may sound like heaven right now but it’s not. It’s a load of shit and drama 24/7, 365 days of the year. Trust me, I know. So stick with what you know. Study hard and become a doctor.
  8. Also, since I ruined my mother’s dream of becoming a doctor myself. I need you to graduate so I can attend your convocation and see what the fuss is all about. I will be the one wearing a bright orange Congrats t-shirt and shouting your name.
  9. Let’s get one thing clear. She is mine, people. Don’t even think that you can take her away. I might be continents apart but her brain belongs here. So enjoy the time you guys have with her. Because the ending is all me.
  10. I miss you. The kind where I want to see your face at least once a week, eat good food, talk about your Phupho’s daughter’s inlaw’s tragedy or discuss Lorelai’s thousand yellow Daisies proposal.
  11. I want to get married again, just so I can do everything with you. I didn’t miss you as much at the actual wedding. I missed you more during my shopping trip to Pakistan. Because I kept thinking, if only Teebi was here, she would say this or that.
  12. You are my person. I am very lucky that I found you so early in my life because life without you is just unimaginable. I honestly, don’t even remember who I was friends with before you.
  13. Reason no 34587 that you need to pass your profs and get that degree is because I need to take a vacation with you. For that we need money which you will be able to earn once you have that degree. So study like a champ. And dream about Bali, Florence, St.Petersburg etc, the choice is yours.
  14. You are the only person who can understand me without me uttering a word. It’s magic. I never looked for the perfect love or the perfect friend because you already gave that to me. Thank you for that !
  15. Thank you for being the best person, friend, sister, study buddy (all those grueling math sessions ), virtual advice giver and so much more.
  16. The reason I am writing this is because I am trying to be a better friend, not waste your crucial time but still buck you up and put a smile on ‘Baingan’s face’.
  17. When life kicks you in your gut while punching your face, remember that we are all rooting for you. (by all I mean me, my siblings, parents, extended family aka Khalas, Mamo etc)
  18. I know you know this but consider this a reminder. I am ALWAYS here for you. I cannot guarantee this for anyone else. But you, I am here, today and always.
  19. Look, I consider myself your true friend. So if this whole medical thing isn’t working out, no problem. I am ready to find you a rich single guy and you can spend the rest of your days matching his ties and ordering the maids around. 😛
  20. I love you. Because of who you are, of who I am when I am with you, of who you have made me. Simply because you are you. Never lose that.

What do you want your best friend to know ? Give her/him a call and tell them what it is that you love about them.

…..

Leave a Reply

