Happy To Us !

Two years. 24 months. 731 days.1544 hours. 1052640 minutes.

That is the amount of time that I have been married for.

‘OMG, tumnay itni choti beti ki shaadi kardi’.

OMG, you married your daughter at such a young age.

‘Haan, shaadi isi age mai hojani chaye, adjust honay mai asani hoti hai.’

Yeah, you should get married at this age, it’s easier to adjust.

‘Aray tumnay memono mai apni beti ki shaadi kardi’

You got your daughter married in Memons.

‘Larka tu kahi say bhi laiq nahi hai hamari Sumaica kay’

The guy is in no way fit for our Sumaica.

‘Beta, shaadi kay baad larki ka kaam uska ghar sambhalna hota hai’

Dear, after getting married, a girl’s responsibility is to look after her house.

‘Aray ye perhai werhai choro, hamay khushkhabri kam sunnay ko milay gi.’

Leave all this studying and stuff. When are we going to get some good news ?

These are just some of the presents that I received from society, family friends and relatives.Β It was like these people were waiting for me to fail so they could celebrate their win of gambling on my life.

Now to think that that we are two is surreal. To say that it has been easy would be a very big fat lie. But it has been a lot of fun. I have done things that I otherwise wouldn’t have done. Most importantly, I have grown as a person. Getting married is one of the biggest life lessons and I made sure to learn every aspect as much as I could.

Marriage is a lot of hard work. And you have no assurance that it will go the way you want.

People change. Circumstances change. That is life.

What you have to make sure is not to lose yourself in all this chaos. And that the person you married, loves and respects you for who you are. I think I have succeeded in that. At the end of the day, the other half rarely agrees with me on anything but he respects my opinion. Which is all I want.

He never imposes anything on me. In these two years I have done a lot of things that were asked or implied. Not a single one of them were by him.

There have been times when I gave up, on myself and on us. But he didn’t, on me or on us.

Then there are days like today where I just sit back, eat a shit amount of food, sleep like there is no tomorrow and just be happy.

Because you know what, we just turned TWO. πŸ˜€

…………………

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Happy To Us !

  1. Congratulations!! I’m really happy that you’re happily married. πŸ™‚
    May you two get a million years together πŸ˜€
    Idk if it’s off topic or not but while reading your post, the idea struck me that sometimes parents marry their kids at a very young age. A girl I know got married at the age of 16. I think parents or even society should give children a little time to get mature and understand things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you !
      You are right. I have seen it done more and more overseas for various reasons. Despite getting married at a young age myself, I am strictly against it. Honestly, I have seen so many marriages end badly because of this. Parents care a little too much about society and it’s so called standards. So these days, marriage has become this ultimate thing that you have to do. Sad times. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! You’re right! Do you know the muhawra Nukail thonkna? I think that’s the one. It means that when you can’t control a boy then get him married to someone so he’ll become responsible. I HATE IT! Like instead of marrying him with an innocent girl, control him yourself.
        It’s too bad!
        I’m not a scholar but I think that two people should only get married when they are both mature and responsible because that’s when the marriage actually last.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooohhh ! I have never heard that term but I have come across that idea. Yaar, people get their kids married for the weirdest reasons ever. It’s like marriage is the solution to everything.

        True that ! Also, consider if the people in question actually want to get married. Unfortunately, our society is …..My attempts at understanding our society have failed miserably. πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Exactly!! You beta is badtameez then get him married. Daughter not listening to you? get her married. They’re failing exams get them married and falana dhimkana.
        Mine too! Why would a marriage last when the two partners are not even responsible and mature?

        Like

  2. Unpopular opinion : I think there is nothing wrong with marriages at a young age as long as both of them are not being forced in to it as you both learn to grow together , understand the struggles you both face and work towards a successfully shared life together.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. Key words being ‘as long as the people in question are not being forced/pressured into it’. You can get married whenever you want as long as it is what you want.

      Despite that, everything you mentioned can be done at anytime, regardless of the age. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

