All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (Book Review)

20151107_124851Goodread’s Review:Β All The Bright Places

 

Goodread’s Rating: 4.2/5

Author: Jennifer Niven

Pages: 378

Genre: Young Adult, Contemperory

Published: January 6th, 2015

My Rating: 4.5

My Review:

I was apprehensive to pick up such a hyped up book because there is always this pressure of liking it because the world does. And in the beginning I was literally like, ‘Meh’.Β 

I have dealt with depression but never with suicidal thoughts or anyone committing suicide. So I was unable to relate to it as much as a person who has gone through something like this would.(I wish and pray that no one has to go through such things) Nevertheless, I do know what it feels like when you are surrounded by darkness. In that moment, you feel helpless but you know that only you can pull yourself out of it. That dreadful feeling that people won’t understand, won’t relate to what you go through.

At first, I couldn’t relate to the characters at all. But I realised that feeling what a character feels is more important than relating to it. I fell in love with Finch and Violet. It was heart breaking to see Finch go through what he did, how he tries so hard to save himself at every corner of life. It just tugs at those heart strings.

Suicide is a very sensitive, real and difficult thing to talk about. For an author to write a book on it is extremely hard. Reading the story, you can tell that Niven went through something similar to have written such a true depiction. Because it feels real. You can feel how Finch feels, how Violet feels.

Finch as a character was a lot of fun. I don’t think that he was a bad boy at all. On the contrary, I think he was a perfect gentleman. His character had so many layers and it was awesome to peel them away and read what was underneath. I laughed at him, with him, cried about him and just want him in my life. (Sorry, husband.)

I loved the friendship, romance in it. It was different, unpredictable and a lot more real. It wasn’t a fairy tale. It was a real tale.

I loved it but not as much as I wanted to. This book made me want to feel what it is like to wish that you didn’t exist just so that I could experience the true essence of it. (I know that sounds terrible but it was kind of awesome if you think about it.)

The perfection of this book was in how imperfect everything was.

Favourite Quotes:

‘You are all the colours in one, at full brightness.’

‘You make me love you.’

‘You make me lovely, and it’s so lovely to be lovely to the one I love.’

‘Because it’s not a lie if that’s how you feel.’

20151107_124928

 

……

Leave a Reply

