Food Diaries: Pizza

20170721_163158I love Pizza. It’s my favourite food after Singaporean Rice. However, I have never tried making it. Because I love Pizza Hut. And I don’t like depriving other people of their livelihood. This past week, I ate homemade Pizza and absolutely hated it. The base was super thick and ketchup was used as a tomato sauce. Something clicked and I decided to try my hand at it.

These are the two essential ingredients. Tomato Sauce and Fresh Mozzarella Cheese. Now I couldn’t find fresh Mozzarella so I got the packaged block. Do not get the shredded kind. I repeat, do not get the packaged shredded kind.

I made this at my mom’s house and she cooks with the most basic spices. So she didn’t have any Oregano, Basil etc. Instead of following a recipe, I made up my own Pizza sauce. If you want to experiment, do it.

Ingredients:

  • Pizza Sauce
  • Mozzarella Cheese (Block)
  • Dough
  • Toppings of your choice20170721_160920

Tomato Sauce Recipe:

Take 3 large tomatoes, cut them into cubes. Throw them in a pot with one cup of water and boil them. Once they get soft and mushy, puree it, add tomato paste, salt, black pepper, red chilli and turmeric. Reduce the heat and let it simmer till the sauce thickens.

Pizza Dough Recipe:

For the dough I followed this recipe by Sorted food. If your dough gets too soft, add more flour and keep on kneading, it will be fine.

Umm, try not to look at the nutritional info on the recipe’s website because the calorie count will freak you out if you are trying to eat healthy. Just ignore it. For Pizza’s sake.

20170721_160957

20170721_155545

Assembly:Β 

I tripled the dough recipe because I was making it for my mom’s neighbour as well. So it’s up to you how much you want to make it. Mine made about four large thin crust Pizza’s.

Roll out your dough with a rolling pin, grease the baking tray, transfer the Pizza to the tray, top with the pizza sauce, your choice of toppings, mine were minced meat, Capsicums and Onion, add cheese and some more cheese. Put it in the over and bake for 15 to 20 minutes.

Thoughts:

Honestly, it was a lot easier than I had imagined. I am puzzled as to why I haven’t made this earlier. There are a lot of individual ingredients which you can prepare beforehand. This is a perfect weekend treat, super easy and a lot of fun to make.

……

 

Leave a Reply

